The Kinky Green


Meeting the Chief (or the story of Henry’s demise)

Posted in Peace Corps Adventures by Joy on June 1, 2013
Tags: ,

Wednesday I got up early, early & walked about 5 miles with my host brother, village headman, & vice-head. We arrived at the chief’s palace a little before 8 & waited.
He emerged from his younger wife’s home in a sharp black suit with white pinstripes, told us to sit, & welcomed me. My hosts gave him a gift, as is custom, & he gave me a rooster & told me to “be free.”
As we walked home, I plotted the rooster’s fate. Inevitably: dinner.
The name was an accident, but Henry sure was delicious.

Leave a Reply

