The Kinky Green


Garden Planning

Posted in Peace Corps Adventures by Joy on May 25, 2013
Tags:

Last Sunday, I dug a tiny little flower bed. In so doing, I realized just how incredibly rocky my soil is. So I’ve been slowly removing the surface rocks from the area I want to plant my garden in a few months, with a bit of bubblegum-incentive driven help from the Iwe Army.
My gardening counterparts are looking toward planting time, too. Even as they harvest. Unfortunately, there’s a limited variety of seeds available here in Zambia, particularly heirlooms. Some seeds we lack are in the comments

One Response to 'Garden Planning'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Garden Planning'.

  1. Joy said,

    Hard-to-find seeds: asparagus, cauliflower, catnip, chamomile, chive, marjoram, mint, rosemary, sage, spinach, strawberry, summer squash, thyme, peas, string beans, bush beans, raspberry, leeks, cabbage, zucchini. There are certianly others.
    Technically, this post is merely informational… If my gardening/hippie/slow food/helpful friends want to know more, by all means… hit me up! joymicheledouglas – at – gmail 😀


Leave a Reply

