The Kinky Green


Gender Bender

Posted in Peace Corps Adventures by Joy on May 10, 2013
Tags:

When I arrived, some of the boards had come loose in my be frame. Chama, our driver, asked my host for nails. When I retrieved a hammer & nails, all the dudes in my yard looked surprised. Chama said, “You’re well equipped.”
“I came to work.”
Next day I took my new saw to some planks & built a corner shelf for the wall of my storage area. Like all other manual labor, sawing is an acquired skill. I spent a good while making my cuts & acquired a reputation as an unlikely lady carpenter in so doing.
https://m.wordpress.com/?action=post&blog_id=6089846

2 Responses to 'Gender Bender'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Gender Bender'.

  1. Joy said,

    Apparently, lady carpenters arew pretty much unheard of. Don’t get me wrong. Zambian women are bad-ass. They work hard & do it well. But there are strict gender roles in place for some things. Especially things that can earn money. ($=men’s work) Carpentry could be a prime example of that. At any rate, I’ve had to explain myself. “Where did you learn?” “My dad is a carpenter. He taught me.” I’ve drawn h2o, cooked, & sewed but haven’t swept my yard or cooked nsima yet. Bet they’re so confused!

  2. Sheena said,

    Sounds like the village folk are in for a treat!


Leave a Reply

