The Kinky Green


“I bought a lot. Give me something extra.”

Posted in Peace Corps Adventures by Joy on March 22, 2013
Tags:

This week in Nyanja we learned to bargain at the market. They taught us handy phrases like,
“How much is this?”
“You made the price too high!”
“I’m a volunteer & have little money. Please lower the price.”
If/when we get our way, we’re supposed to ask for mbesela (something extra). While I love a good bargain, it’s just so different to think of shopping this way! I’m going to have to get up my nerve, or I’ll be overpaying for everything the next 2 years! You know all Americans are rich, right?

2 Responses to '“I bought a lot. Give me something extra.”'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '“I bought a lot. Give me something extra.”'.


  1. I’ve been meaning to ask you if they have any earrings or bracelets I’d like there usually & how do I get currency to you to pick some up for me.

  2. Joy said,

    Don’t worry, you’re on my list for goodies when I find them. 🙂


Leave a Reply

