The Kinky Green


Semi-lost in the Bush After Dark

Posted in Peace Corps Adventures by Joy on February 27, 2013
Tags: , ,

I kept telling people I was afraid of getting lost in the bush. Amai helpfully said, “You can’t get lost here.” She was right, of course. All the roads & paths lead back to one another, somehow. Or they dead-end at someone’s hut who can point you on your way.
My lift home tonight blew a tire on “the bad road,” so I got a ride from a driver who kept trying to make turns where he shouldn’t, despite my directions. Turned out fine, though. We dead-ended at someone’s hut who was happy to point the way.
http://www.google.com

One Response to 'Semi-lost in the Bush After Dark'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Semi-lost in the Bush After Dark'.

  1. Joy said,

    A few notes:
    – All the roads here are terrible, so that comment cracked me up, especially when you throw in the fact that the “road” we were on was little more than two tire ruts through a bog.
    – Both of these drivers are employed by Peace Corps. I am being careful, not taking rides from randos through the bush at night. Promise!
    – I cannot wait to get my bike back. Nothing like being forgotten, stranded, & lost on 3 different rides in the same day to make you crave independent transportation!


Leave a Reply

