The Kinky Green


Dzina langa ndine Joy Douglas. Ndine waku America

Posted in peace corps adventure by Joy on February 24, 2013
Tags:

“Me, my name is, I am Joy. I come from America.”

Today I joined the Lungu family, my homestay hosts, at church. A Mai said it started at 10, so sure enough we left about 10 after. As we were nearing the church, a girl walking with us asked me the time. “10:42,” I responded. “What time does church begin?”

“10 hours.”

The choir was singing when we got there, and folks continued to trickle in after us. Aside from the lax time frame, the service was very much like what I’ve experienced in the US.

2 Responses to 'Dzina langa ndine Joy Douglas. Ndine waku America'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Dzina langa ndine Joy Douglas. Ndine waku America'.

  1. Matt said,

    We want pictures!

  2. Kevin said,

    Pretty much sounds like our church. Service starts at 11, but we still get people who roll in as late as 11:45…good to know the rest of the world is about the same! 😉


Leave a Reply

