The Kinky Green


Juicing: Day 8

Posted in The Emotional,The Physical by Joy on February 24, 2012
Tags: , ,

"I'll be home soon" by Sam Brown of explodingdog.com

Monday, February 20, 2012

5:30 a.m.
2 carrots
1 Asian pear

I prepped all the goods the night before so I could make my juice in the morning and still get to the gym for boxing at 6.

1 beet + greens
3 carrots
2 sticks celery
1 orange
1 apple
1 lemon
1″ ginger

Made this one up based on my already dwindling stock of produce. I opted for the bigger farmers market this weekend, hoping they’d haw more local produce. Vendors didn’t disappoint on the apple front, but all the veggies were shipped in from who knows where. Decided to skip those and the Eco-guilt they intrinsically carried.

3:30 p.m.
The other half.

I felt it wise to skip kickboxing because the knee is still thrumming at rest. Made a u-turn on the way home and went to the gym anyway to focus on some upper body strength moves. Gotta work with what you can, I reasoned. I was jealous of the intense workout everyone in Sergio’s class was getting, but at least I didn’t just head home and plop down on my bum. Sergio came over to check on me and echoed the thoughts I’ve been volleying away since Saturday — that I get back to swimming for cardio. I know, I know. But meh.

7 p.m.
1 pear
2 celery sticks
Maybe 2 pears next time. The celery almost overwhelms the delicate pear flavor. Still yummy, though.

Two days left. Real food beckons enticingly…

Leave a Reply

