The Kinky Green


Juicing: Day 7

Posted in The Physical,The Social by Joy on February 23, 2012
Tags: , , ,

"I must go on" by Sam Brown of explodingdog.com

Sunday, February 19, 2012

An afternoon volunteer event being the only thing on the docket, I was able to sleep ridiculously, ridiculously late.

11:30 a.m.

Beet Basic
2 beets
2 carrots
1 apple
1 orange
1 stick celery
1/2 inch ginger

I added the beet greens and a handful of spinach, because, well, why not?
Still quite the tasty concoction.

Considering the amount of time I slept through the night and the deepness of the sleep, I started leaning toward the belief that yesterday’s super low energy level might be my body clueing into and taking advantage of this unusual amount of down time to chip away a little of my monstrous sleep debt. No matter what lifestyle changes I’ve incorporated in the last few years’ journey toward overall health, establishing and sticking to an adequate sleep schedule has been an elusive task at best, and a bottom-rung priority most of the time. Truly I know that constantly going and doing while shortchanging myself on this fundamental necessity is doing me no favors. One of these days, I’ll get it together.

3 p.m.
Had another Naked juice smoothie at my volunteer post-event get together. We’d gone bowling. The flat screens above the lanes flashed pictures of loaded nachos, elegantly plated steamed dumplings, juicy burgers. When I got home I thought longingly of chewing. Of eating warm food. Of meat. The weekend offered too much down time for me to contemplate what’s missing. Three more days…

6 p.m.
3 carrots
1 apple

Delicious, but seemed to have too much texture for my overall liking.

I had a great deal of down time this evening. No internets or tv or phone calls to while away the time. I found myself thinking mutinous thoughts… Maybe 9 days is enough. Maybe the lack of energy really is from this fast. Maybe my body really does need to chew. To have protein.

Meh. Bump that.

I’ve come this far. I’m going to see this thing through. Plus, there’s this to consider.

Leave a Reply

