The Kinky Green


Juicing: Day 2

Posted in The Environmental,The Physical by Joy on February 16, 2012
Tags: , , ,

"I thought you were different... but, I like it." by Sam Brown of ExplodingDog.com

I spent $27 at the organic mart on oranges (as I hadn’t considered that a jillion recipes would call for them), tomatoes (a splurge for February… more on that shortly), and some better processed juices (to get me through my moonlighting gig).

So, it’s really cool that you can juice practically any fruit or veggie. And I was fortunate to be able to get a fair amount of local produce at the outset of this endeavor. Maybe when I’m better versed in juicing I’ll be confident enough to make up my own concoctions using what’s fresh and local. For this reboot, though, I’ve purchased more well-traveled goods than I like to make habit. I’m experiencing a bit of locavore guilt, to be perfectly honest.

Take these tomatoes, for instance. I avoided tomatoes altogether during my previous shopping ventures. February tomatoes leave a lot to be desired in the looks department, and I can only assume the same is true for taste. No, I thought, tomatoes are only good in season. Wait and they’ll be so much better. But then I started worrying about the fruit to veggie ratio. Fruit is good, but veggies are better. Concerned I was getting the ratio wrong (mainly because everything tastes so darn good!), I decided to splurge on some New England tomatoes. At least it’s closer than Cali, right? And these were bright red and plump and firm but giving, the way tomatoes should be.

But, at the end of the day, these tomatoes are still traveling further than I’m comfortable sourcing my food. Same for the oranges and cucumber and spinach and pretty much everything I didn’t get at the farmer’s market. *sigh* I suppose starting a juice fast in winter, I should have expected to branch out for my produce sourcing. At least, looking on the bright side, it gives me a goal to work toward.

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Ahhh… the day of love. So far, I’m loving my juice fast. Does that count?? 🙂

Last night I prepped my fruits and veggies for today’s juicing recipes. I figured I would try the full juice recipes on day 2 instead of sticking to 1 serving, hoping that would keep me from hitting the kitchen every two hours like clockwork.

8 a.m.
Glass of processed 100% OJ.
I didn’t feel like hauling the juicer in for a morning juice when I knew I’d be hauling it back to the office directly.

9 a.m.
Apple basic
4 carrots
1 apple

5/5 energy. 3/5 detox, digestion, skin. 2/5 immunity.
Yummy. I opted for ease with this one, as I was running a little late getting to my desk. Even though I made the full recipe, it only produced about 1 cup of juice, which is roughly what I got from all of the halved recipes yesterday. Hmmm…

12 p.m.
Green ‘n’ Pear It
8 spears broccoli
3 sticks celery
2 pears (Ran out of pears, so I substituted apples.)

5/5 detox. 4/5 immunity, digestion, skin. 3/5 energy.
This is super yumm-o. (And would be DE-vine with pears, I’m sure.) I actually started getting a little worried about all these yummy juices. Am I getting enough vegetables? I know there are vegetables in there… I put them in there myself. But everything is tasting too good to have enough vegetables for me. Right? Okay, so the broccoli hardly juiced at all. The treetop parts went straight to the pulp bin, but I got a teeeeensy amount of dark green goodness from the stalks.

2:50 p.m.
Pineroot
1 sweet potato
1 carrot
1/2 pineapple

5/5 for energy, immunity, and digestion. 4/5 for skin. 3/5 for detox.
Bright, bright orange and totally delicious. Who knew you could juice a sweet potato? No, seriously. Who knew that?
4:50 p.m.

Super defender
5 lg kale leaves
3 carrots
1 orange

Will definitely keep this one in the mix.

After this I sampled Odwalla‘s Superfood, Naked’s Green Machine, and Vriut‘s Berry Veggie Blend. All were tasty. Both the Superfood and the Green Machine are called juice smoothies, and I worried a bit that this would throw my fast off. But the difference having these juices on hand when I couldn’t have fresh juice made a world of difference in my evening.

2 Responses to 'Juicing: Day 2'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Juicing: Day 2'.

  1. D Barnes said,

    Juicing sweet potatoes is probably the best discovery ever. I mean the juice is bountiful, flavorful, and filling. And the pulp? Freeze it, use it later for muffins, cake, pie, curry, the list goes on.

    Sweet potatoes win my nomination for most awesome root.

    • Joy said,

      Totally! I was amazed!


Leave a Reply

