The Kinky Green


First Great Salad of the Season

Posted in The Environmental,The Physical,The Social by Joy on May 13, 2011
Tags:

Weight Watchers Greek Lemon-Dill Grilled Chicken Salad

I found myself with a few minutes between career job and fun job Wednesday and used the opportunity to stop into the Farmer’s Market in Old Town.

On the produce front, only two farms were represented, neither organic, both within in a respectable range of distance. Both had beautiful products, and I tried to spend my $20 relatively evenly between the two.

From the first stand, I purchased sugar snap peas, two varieties of beets, dill, and a beautiful (greenhouse) tomato. At the second stand, I bought the most gorgeous head of red leaf lettuce I’ve ever laid eyes on and a ton of fantastic smelling strawberries.

I knew I was hosting Mrs. and Mr. P for dinner Thursday night, but I had no idea how I would pull together what I’d purchased to serve them, even as I pulled into the parking lot of the grocery store a mere two hours before their arrival. Rather than wander the aisles in a state of exhaustion tempered only by near panic, I did what any resourceful Southern hostess with half a fridge full of perishables, guests on the way, and a serious time impediment would do…

I pulled out my handy iPhone. (Okay. I admit it. I’m finally an iPhone-loving convert.)

With the forces of Apple and Weight Watchers united, I was blessed with an awesomely delicious, healthy recipe that was a snap to pull together, tasted fantastic, looked beautiful plated and afforded me the time for 15 minutes of beauty rest before my guests arrive.

Try it for yourself. You won’t be disappointed.

Greek Lemon-Dill Grilled Chicken Salad

Weight Watchers PointsPlus™ Value: 8
Servings: 4
Preparation Time: 18 min
Cooking Time: 15 min
Level of Difficulty: Easy

A fabulous Greek salad with a few tasty additions like chickpeas and fresh dill.

Marinade/Dressing Ingredients

  • 6 Tbsp water
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil, extra-virgin
  • 2 1/4 tsp lemon zest
  • 4 1/2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp dried minced garlic
  • 1 tsp table salt, or to taste
  • 3/4 tsp black pepper, freshly ground

Salad Ingredients

  • 1 pound(s) Chicken, breast, raw, without skin & bone, four 4-oz pieces
  • 2 spray(s) cooking spray
  • 4 cup(s) romaine lettuce, thickly shredded
  • 1 cup(s) canned chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup(s) roasted red peppers, packed in water, diced
  • 1 cup(s) English cucumber, sliced
  • 10 medium olive(s), Kalamata, sliced
  • 1/4 cup(s) crumbled feta cheese
  • 4 1/2 Tbsp dill, fresh, chopped
  • 1/2 medium lemon(s), cut into wedges for garnish

Instructions

  1. In a small bowl, combine water, oil, lemon zest and juice, garlic, salt and pepper; remove 1/4 cup of dressing and place in a large zip-close plastic bag (or glass bowl).
  2. Add chicken to bag (or bowl) and turn to coat; seal bag (or cover bowl) and refrigerate at least 1 hour or up to 8 hours. Cover and refrigerate remaining lemon mixture for dressing.
  3. When ready to cook, off heat, coat grill or grill pan with cooking spray; preheat grill or grill pan over medium-high heat. Remove chicken from marinade; discard marinade.
  4. Grill chicken, turning as needed, until cooked through, about 10 to 15 minutes.
  5. Place lettuce on a serving platter; arrange vegetables, chickpeas, chicken, olives and cheese on top. Stir dill into reserved dressing; drizzle over salad. Yields about 1 1/2 cups salad, 1 chicken breast and 1 tablespoon each olives and feta per serving.
For dessert, I served the fresh strawberries with a side of homemade whipped cream. While I was in the kitchen, I also baked my beets and simmered the greens in a bit of white wine I had on hand. Easy and de-licious go-tos for coming meals.
Leave a Reply

