The Kinky Green


Life Edits: Take 1

Posted in The Occupational,The Spiritual by Joy on May 9, 2011
Tags: ,

Coming home Friday night, approximately 14 hours after I passed through the front door in the opposite direction, I was all but dead on my feet. Sometime after collapsing on my bed in a near-gelatinous heap, I focused enough to realize I sat staring, unthinking, at the space approximately 2 feet in front of my face.

Do something productive, the eternal motivator within urged.
Only if it doesn’t require physical or mental dexterity, the work-weary majority of my mind countered.
The shoes, the annoying little know-it-all threw back.

Sigh. The shoes.

Have I mentioned I’m moving again? Such an enormous change is going to be quite the shock to the system at the end of July. (I mean, it’s only move number 15 in the last 11 years.)

Back to the shoes. Moving always gives me good reason to get around to that otherwise neglected “spring cleaning” type business. I’ve decided to try to be preemptive with the scaling down this time around, in part because I’m getting antsy about the move but can’t do any serious apartment shopping yet as it’s too early to know availability. And in part because I don’t particularly care to lug the stuff I’m not going to keep to yet another location before lugging it somewhere else to get rid of it.

And an easy place to start is with the shoes. I spent a few minutes going through my closet and pulling anything ill-fitting, particularly worn, dusty with disuse, or unlikely to be worn again. I came out with 20.5 pairs

Shoes for donation.

Bye bye, shoes

of shoes for donation or the dump.

Twenty point five. Sheesh.

(That .5 is really pissing me off at the moment. I wore that shoe – and its mate! – on Tuesday. What the hell happened to the other one in the interim??)

When all was said and done, I took a quick count of my remaining shoes. The tally? 44.

Forty-four!?!

So, on Tuesday, I had 65 pairs of shoes???

I think it’s safe to say I have a problem. Particularly because I’m planning to reward myself for this edit with permission to buy some sandals for the summer.

2 Responses to 'Life Edits: Take 1'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Life Edits: Take 1'.

  1. Alicia said,

    You have inspired me. I will sort through shoes tonight. It’s amazing how these things pile up on us. I also need to do clothes. I almost got all my clothes put away but I ran out of space.

  2. Joy said,

    Good luck!!! With the shoes *and* the clothes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

