The Kinky Green


Before the New Year – A Resolution

Posted in The Physical by Joy on December 29, 2010

i am a real person now by Sam Brown of ExplodingDog.com

I started WW again a couple of weeks ago. I have about 17 lbs to drop before I reach my goal weight, and I’ve decided to go ahead and take care of it.

When I started making lifestyle changes in January of 2008, I established a goal weight that puts me right in the middle of the healthy BMI range for my height. After losing 50+ lbs, I got comfortable and stopped putting so much emphasis on the number.

I lead a generally healthy life. I exercise regularly and eat healthy, wholesome food (for the most part). I’ve long since quit smoking (2+ years!) and generally am much nicer to my body. In return, I’ve been amazed to learn what said body is capable of. All those years, hiding under a fumbling, awkward padded exterior was a runner! And a hiker! And a kayaker! And a cyclist! And who knows what else…

In addition to my newfound athleticism*, I know my lifestyle choices are for the better because, even without focusing too hard in the last year/year and a half, I’ve pushed off another 10ish lbs, putting my overall weight loss in the 60+ range.

Still, the scale tells me I’m overweight for my height. Honestly, I’d say to hell with it all and love my extra few lbs if I didn’t know that every lb you are overweight increases your chance for heart disease and a litany of other health problems. And that pretty much everyone gains weight as they age.

So, you know, the time is now.

Wish me luck!

* Athleticism by my standards. Not that I’m registering on any competitive scales.

Leave a Reply

