The Kinky Green


Lost

Posted in The Emotional,The Intellectual,The Occupational by Joy on September 17, 2010

I’ve lost my voice. And I hate it.

I don’t know how it happened, but I’ve actually started to feel intimidated when it comes time to sit down and write anything these days. Business documents, training materials, cover letters, and the like used to seem to flow from my fingertips with the greatest of ease, almost as if by magic. And now I sit petrified in front of blank open documents, avoiding the work in any way I can.

Admittedly, loathing my current position might have something to do with the lack of enthusiasm for professional writing. But it’s not just that. You can forget about my writing anything for pleasure. For months I’ve been noting ideas for this blog, for instance. Writing a paragraph here or there and abandoning it because I just haven’t had the heart to follow through.

The truth is, I miss writing. It’s always been part of my personal identity, and I don’t want to lose that.

A friend linked to this article today, and it inspired me to get off my lazy non-writing butt and break the dry spell by writing something. Anything.

So while this post is nothing particularly profound, it’s a first step. And that’s how journeys always begin, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

